VoyForums

VoyUser Login optional ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 12345678910 ]
Subject: Darien and Greenwich

Author:
Tod Howard Hawks
[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]
Date Posted: 00:14:29 06/11/17 Sun
In reply to: holtsledge 's message, "winner and still champ" on 17:23:46 06/10/17 Sat

At Andover, from which I graduated in 1962, I can remember several handsful of fellow students, specifically from Darien and Greenwich, whose individual and collective mean- spiritedness poisoned the whole school, students and teachers alike. I remember countless acts of unkindness perpetrated by these students from Darien and Greenwich. In the main, this is why I chose to go to Columbia instead of Yale. Yale, in those years, would have been a continuation, I feared, of Andover. Columbia asked only to be myself. I made the right choice.

Tod Howard Hawks CC 66

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Replies:
[> [> Subject: Re: Darien and Greenwich, Ivy League colleges, "Too Many DBs"

Author:
An Observer
[ Edit | View ]

Date Posted: 10:14:42 06/11/17 Sun

THH, I agree with you. Many people who attend elite colleges and enter intense occupations do so with the express objective of winding up in a beautiful wealthy town where the schools are great, the town facilities are extensive and, not least, other successful people can be found to further one's career.

But the cost of living in these towns, besides financial, can sometimes be psychological. A good friend of mine sold his beautiful house in one of these exclusive Fairfield County towns and moved to a suburb further afield. When I asked him why he would extend his commute so drastically, he replied simply, "Too many douche bags."