[ Show ]
Support VoyForums
[ Shrink ]
VoyForums Announcement: Programming and providing support for this service has been a labor of love since 1997. We are one of the few services online who values our users' privacy, and have never sold your information. We have even fought hard to defend your privacy in legal cases; however, we've done it with almost no financial support -- paying out of pocket to continue providing the service. Due to the issues imposed on us by advertisers, we also stopped hosting most ads on the forums many years ago. We hope you appreciate our efforts.

Show your support by donating any amount. (Note: We are still technically a for-profit company, so your contribution is not tax-deductible.) PayPal Acct: Feedback:

Donate to VoyForums (PayPal):

Login ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 123456789[10] ]

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Date Posted: 00:47:00 09/22/03 Mon
Author: Paul
Subject: Biological Miracles

Over the past few days, I have received over 4000 emails at my computer
at anvil.demon.co.uk due to a massive spam from Biological Miracles aka
Flashpoint International Ltd. These spammers used MY computer as a false
return address for their spam. Most of the emails are "address not
found" bounces and some are complaints to ME as though my computer was
responsible for the spam attack. This is going to take many hours if not
days of my time to sort out.

The spam was an advert for www.the-biological-miracle.biz which promotes
a very questionable medical product. A search of the net-abuse forums
shows that these spammers have been active for quite some time and have
caused a lot of trouble. They have used a number of web domains that are
registered with different hosts, the later ones using obviously
fraudulent contact information. Some dead ones are
biological-miracle.biz and biologicalmiracle.com.

This does however, leave a trail back to their earliest site
www.flashpoint-direct.co.uk which is still active and shows their
automotive origin, although the site does promote their dodgy medical
product. They are: Flashpoint International Ltd., PO Box 726, London
EC1V 7QQ, UK. Phone +44 (0) 20 7490 1444. Here's the map location of
that post code: <a rel=nofollow target=_blank href="http://www.upmystreet.com/map?l1=EC1V+7QQ">http://www.upmystreet.com/map?l1=EC1V+7QQ</a>

I've saved copies of these homepages (with ordering disabled) just in
case they change the addresses:
<a rel=nofollow target=_blank href="http://www.geocities.com/paulknsmith/biomiracle.htm">http://www.geocities.com/paulknsmith/biomiracle.htm</a>
<a rel=nofollow target=_blank href="http://www.geocities.com/paulknsmith/flashpoint-ltd.htm">http://www.geocities.com/paulknsmith/flashpoint-ltd.htm</a>

I'd like to have sued these people for doing this, but I've been advised
that EU legislation that outlaws false return addresses has not yet been
implemented. What about that dodgy medical product? Can it possibly be
legal to sell something like that from a UK site? Do you think the UK
police would be interested?

Paul K N Smith

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Login ] Create Account Not required to post.
Post a public reply to this message | Go post a new public message
* HTML allowed in marked fields.
Message subject (required):

Name (required):

  Expression (Optional mood/title along with your name) Examples: (happy, sad, The Joyful, etc.) help)

  E-mail address (optional):

Type your message here:

Notice: Copies of your message may remain on this and other systems on internet. Please be respectful.

[ Contact Forum Admin ]

Forum timezone: GMT-8
VF Version: 3.00b, ConfDB:
Before posting please read our privacy policy.
VoyForums(tm) is a Free Service from Voyager Info-Systems.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Voyager Info-Systems. All Rights Reserved.