VoyForums

VoyUser Login optional ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 12345678910 ]

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Date Posted: 22:41:10 04/01/17 Sat
Author: The Doc
Subject: In regards to the Monologue
In reply to: HerbertMcHoover 's message, "Jimmy Breslin / Level 42 and E.G. Daily - May 17, 1986 (11.17)" on 11:15:49 03/19/17 Sun

I'm just going to repeat what I posted on my blog;

I’ve lived in New York State my entire life, and I’ve been working in New York City now for the past 5 years; and in that time, I’ve learned the differences between being a tourist, being a commuter, and being a “Real” New Yorker. Thanks to some people I work with, I was able to get a jumpstart on this education by reading a few vintage articles from the New York Daily News that Breslin wrote. When he passed away a few weeks ago, he left behind a legacy of love, lust, loathing and leering for the City he called his home for most of his life………he also (unfortunately) has the misfortune of appearing not only in a terrible season of SNL as a host, but he also has the even bigger misfortune of appearing in—what some have called—one of the worst episodes of all time…It’s not Jean Doumanian Bad, but it’s pretty close. Just the idea of a person of Breslin’s caliber hosting the show is enough to make you go “Why?!”, while being paired up with Boxer “Marvelous” Marvin Haggler as his co-host is enough to make you go “HUH?!” He wasn’t an actor/singer/performer, he hardly ever appeared on camera unless it was an interview with local TV, what could possibly possess Lorne & Co. to have him on the show; not as a “special guest” (like Dick Ebersol did for William S. Burroughs in 1981…and yes, I’ll talk about THAT some day) but actually Host the show? Nobody may ever know the answer for certain; but the one thing I could say is that Breslin represented New York the same way SNL represents New York—they’re both iconic NYC