VoyForums

VoyUser Login optional ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 12345 ]

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Date Posted: 19:59:30 12/18/11 Sun
Author: Amy
Subject: New Friesian Owner, question about feeding a pregnant mare

Hello All,

I purchased my first Friesian a couple weeks ago - a beautiful mare who is in foal to Fridse 423, due in late April. I LOVE my mare and am very excited about her coming foal as Fridse is almost my ideal dream horse. I have been breeding Egyptian Arabians for almost 34 years now, but as many others have always dreamed of owning a Freisian. I have not been disappointed, my mare is everything a Friesian should be - kind, noble, a wonderful ride and just a total sweetheart.

I have been reading and trying to learn as much as possible about the proper care of Friesians. I feed my Arabians Strategy Healthy Edge and have been very pleased with it. They are also all given MSM, Cocosoya oil, my special herb mix and an omega 3 supplement. I feed a grass mix hay and alfalfa cubes. Will this be a sufficient diet for my mare after she foals? I have read Friesians do not require alot of grain and do much better with a diet of mostly hay.