VoyForums

VoyUser Login optional ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 12345678910 ]

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Date Posted: 16:52:42 03/20/13 Wed
Author: rcder41
Subject: Re: New Superintendent Richard Langlois
In reply to: marlboroite 's message, "Re: New Superintendent Richard Langlois" on 11:55:25 03/20/13 Wed

As a teacher I have to disagree. More pay isn't going to make me a better teacher. I don't consider the pay I have to be horrendously low but it's also not in keeping with what my peers make with similar educational backgrounds. But that's not a big deal for me. I like the job.
What teachers need is to be able to teach.
Because of the idea that all our students should excel even at the lower grades teachers now teach with a purchased curriculum that does not allow for any creativity within the classroom. All 5th graders need to be on the same page at the same time.
Kindergarteners are spending less time on play and social behaviors and more time on learning to read and write. Consequently those behaviors then need fine tuning as kids get older and teachers then spend teaching time refereeing disputes. Parents are supportive only if the student is doing well. As soon as the student has difficulty it's the teachers fault. It's certainly not the fault of any one else. Late nights out at sports events, parents who don't want to participate in studying with their child, vacations during times when school is in session, all these things contribute to our children's education or lack of......