[ Show ]
Support VoyForums
[ Shrink ]
VoyForums Announcement: Programming and providing support for this service has been a labor of love since 1997. We are one of the few services online who values our users' privacy, and have never sold your information. We have even fought hard to defend your privacy in legal cases; however, we've done it with almost no financial support -- paying out of pocket to continue providing the service. Due to the issues imposed on us by advertisers, we also stopped hosting most ads on the forums many years ago. We hope you appreciate our efforts.

Show your support by donating any amount. (Note: We are still technically a for-profit company, so your contribution is not tax-deductible.) PayPal Acct: Feedback:

Donate to VoyForums (PayPal):

Login ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 12345678910 ]
Subject: Dennis Etchison, Horror author, editor

Dead at 76
[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]
Date Posted: Wednesday, May 29, 04:40:59pm

Dennis Etchison, 76, died May 28, 2019. Etchison was a major writer and editor of horror fiction, especially in the ’80s and ’90s, and received a Bram Stoker Award for lifetime achievement in 2017.

He began publishing short fiction in the 1960s, and notable stories include British Fantasy Award winners “The Olympic Runner” (1986) and “The Dog Park” (1993), and BFA and World Fantasy Award winner “The Dark Country” (1981). Some of his stories were collected in World Fantasy Award finalist The Dark Country (1982), Red Dreams (1984), The Blood Kiss (1988), The Death Artist (1999), Talking in the Dark (2001), Fine Cuts (2006), Got to Kill Them All & Other Stories (2009), and A Long Time Til Morning (2014).

Etchison’s original novels include Darkside (1986), Shadowman (1993), California Gothic (1995), and Double Edge (1996). His first book was a novelization of the John Carpenter film The Fog (1980), and he did other film novelizations, notably for David Cronenberg’s Videodrome (1983, as Jack Martin) and for the Halloween franchise (also as Martin). He was highly knowledgeable about film, studying it in college and serving as a consultant to Stephen King for his non-fiction volume Danse Macabre (1981); he also wrote for television.

Etchison was also an influential anthologist. He edited groundbreaking horror anthology Cutting Edge (1986), three volumes of the Masters of Darkness series (1986, 1988, and 1991), Lord John Ten: A Celebration (1988), World Fantasy Award winners MetaHorror (1992) and The Museum of Horrors (2001), and World Fantasy Award finalist Gathering the Bones (2003, with Ramsey Campbell & Jack Dann).

Dennis William Etchison was born March 30, 1943 in Stockton CA. He attended Los Angeles State College and UCLA, and worked various part-time jobs while writing his early stories, including some years as a gas station attendant in Malibu. He later taught creative writing. Etchison became a full-time writer in 1976, and served as president of the Horror Writers Association from 1992-94. He is survived by his wife Kristina.


[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Subject Author Date
ImdbHe wrote novelizations of horror films based on The Fog (1980), Halloween II (1981), Halloween III: Season of the Witch (1982), and Videodrome (1983)Wednesday, May 29, 04:43:20pm

Login ] Create Account Not required to post.
Post a public reply to this message | Go post a new public message
* HTML allowed in marked fields.
Message subject (required):

Name (required):

  E-mail address (optional):

* Type your message here:

Choose Message Icon: [ View Emoticons ]

Notice: Copies of your message may remain on this and other systems on internet. Please be respectful.

[ Contact Forum Admin ]

Forum timezone: GMT-8
VF Version: 3.00b, ConfDB:
Before posting please read our privacy policy.
VoyForums(tm) is a Free Service from Voyager Info-Systems.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Voyager Info-Systems. All Rights Reserved.