[ Show ]
Support VoyForums
[ Shrink ]
VoyForums Announcement: Programming and providing support for this service has been a labor of love since 1997. We are one of the few services online who values our users' privacy, and have never sold your information. We have even fought hard to defend your privacy in legal cases; however, we've done it with almost no financial support -- paying out of pocket to continue providing the service. Due to the issues imposed on us by advertisers, we also stopped hosting most ads on the forums many years ago. We hope you appreciate our efforts.

Show your support by donating any amount. (Note: We are still technically a for-profit company, so your contribution is not tax-deductible.) PayPal Acct: Feedback:

Donate to VoyForums (PayPal):

Login ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 123456 ]

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Date Posted: 17:27:14 05/08/17 Mon
Author: TOPMA
Subject: TOPMA results - May 6, 2017

The second of the six race Outlaw series at Texas Motorplex was held last Saturday, May 6 and 20 Pro Mod teams from all over showed up to do battle, Texas style. The weather was perfect which meant the hot rods were happy. Since we had such a high car count, a couple of people stepped up to add money to the purse so we could have a 16 car field. Thank you to Leon Dudley of Charlie’s Plumbing and Randy Shapiro of Bruce Lowrie Chevrolet. We really appreciate it. After two rounds of qualifying, here’s how everything unfolded.

#1 Steve Wiley – 3.728 at 203 mph
#2 John Sullivan Jr. – 3.757 at 203 mph
#3 Bill Doucet – 3.930 at 194 mph
#4 Jeffrey Cummins – 3.944 at 190 mph
#5 Jim Brinkerhoff – 3.987 at 187 mph
#6 Doug Riesterer – 3.996 at 189 mph
#7 Chad Sheffield – 4.046 at 177 mph
#8 Tony Strachan – 4.105 at 177 mph
#9 Gaylen Smith – 4.113 at 162 mph
#10 Fernando Ayala Jr. – 4.280 at 167 mph
#11 Kevin Hargett – 4.379 at 141 mph
#12 Brandon Lewis – 4.417 at 131 mph
#13 Eric Clark – 4.570 at 140 mph **Best reaction time, qualifying**
#14 James Satterwhite – 4.601 at 135 mph
#15 Randy Jock – 4.643 at 154 mph
#16 Chuck Poindexter – 4.731 at 154 mph
#17 Richie Price – 4.753 at 151 mph
#18 Wayne Welch – 4.878 at 139 mph
#19 Travis Brandt – 5.605 at 84 mph
#20 Perry Dunn – 6.529 at 75 mph

First Round:

John Sullivan Jr (W) 3.675 at 205.60 (.140 RT)
Randy Jock (RU) 6.502 at 76 mph (.031 RT)

John Sullivan was on a rail taking the win.

Bill Doucet (W) 3.899 at 197 mph (.049 RT)
James Satterwhite (RU) 4.500 at 154 mph (.033 RT)

The best run of the night for Satterwhite but he couldn’t hold off Doucet’s hard charging hemi in the other lane.

Chuck Poindexter (W) 4.681 at 153 mph (.035 RT)
Steve Wiley (RU) 4.781 at 111 mph (.158 RT)

After not qualifying for last month’s show, Wiley had something to prove and came off the trailer with a 3.72 to qualify #1. This was the biggest upset of the night. Wiley was on and off the throttle trying to get to the finish line first but the “little truck that could” was in the other lane on his best pass so far snatching the win light.

Jim Brinkerhoff (W) 4.432 at 136 mph (.099 RT)
Richie Price (RU) 4.733 at 151 mph (.018 RT) **Best reaction time, eliminations**

Richie filled in for Brandon Lewis who was the qualified car but was unable to make the call. Richie left first but Brinkerhoff had enough on an off-paced pass to take the win.

Gaylen Smith (W) 3.840 at 195 mph (.112 RT)
Tony Strachan (RU) 4.647 at 113 mph (.097 RT)

Gaylen was trying a new combination in the converter and finally got it to work. Tony had to abort the run.

Doug Riesterer (W) 3.966 at 185 mph (.072 RT)
Kevin Hargett (RU) 5.706 at 84 mph (.070 RT)

Kevin was basically testing his new Camaro during this race. He put together some good runs during qualifying but had to abort the run and Doug was cruising right down his lane taking the win.

Fernando Ayala Jr. (W) 4.428 at 160 mph (.143 RT)
Chad Sheffield (RU) 4.945 at 104 mph (.182 mph)

Another upset with #10 getting the win light over #7. Both cars were on an off-paced run.

Jeffrey Cummins (W) 3.940 at 192 mph (.043 RT) **Top MPH nitrous**
Eric Clark (RU) 11.421 at 42 mph (.044 RT)

Jeffrey on another great run and Eric shook the tires and had to abort.

Round 2:

John Sullivan Jr. (W) 3.674 at 206.86 mph (.177 RT) **Best ET and MPH Blown**
Fernando Ayala Jr (RU) 4.499 at 129 mph (.045 RT)

The battle of the Jr’s was won by John with the fastest and quickest run of the night in the blown category. Lil Fly had a great light but couldn’t hold off the split window vette.

Bill Doucet (W) 3.897 at 196 mph (.068 RT)
Doug Riesterer (RU) 3.943 at 185 mph (.072 RT) **Best ET nitrous**

Despite having the best ET in the Nitrous category, Riesterer falls to a very consistent Doucet in the blown Willys.

Jim Brinkerhoff (W) 4.304 at 148 mph (.165 RT)
Jeffrey Cummins (RU) NT

The battle of the nitrous cars, in theory #4 and #5 is supposed to be the closest race of the night. Jeffrey jumps the light and throws away a nice run giving the automatic win to Brinkerhoff.

Gaylen Smith (W) 3.880 at 193 mph (.095 RT)
Chuck Poindexter (RU) 4.639 at 155 mph (.032 RT)

Despite leaving first and running his best time of the night, “the little truck that could” fell to the Texas Bounty Hunter who was on another decent run.

Semi Finals:

John Sullivan Jr. (W) 3.857 at 194 mph (.053 RT)
Bill Doucet (RU) 3.918 at 197 mph (.036 RT)

This WAS the closest race of the night when you factor in the reaction times. The MOV for John was .044.

Jim Brinkerhoff (W) 3.977 at 188 mph (.049 RT)
Gaylen Smith (RU) 4.128 at 150 mph (.110 RT)

Gaylen was riding the left retaining wall and aborted the run before tagging it and Jim was on another great run.


John Sullivan Jr. (W) 3.982 at 192 mph (.049 RT)
Jim Brinkerhoff (RU) 4.082 at 155 mph (.032 RT)

Both cars burped the throttle a time or two and it was John who won the peddlefest.

Congratulations to John Sullivan Jr. and his team for their victory and you also got the long distance award driving 8 hours from Macon, TN. We appreciate you coming to run with us and hope to see you again. Congrats also to Jim Brinkerhoff and crew for your runner-up finish. What a night. Lots of plenty fast hot rods. Our next race is June 3rd at Texas Motorplex so y’all come on back!

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Post a message:
This forum requires an account to post.
[ Create Account ]
[ Login ]
[ Contact Forum Admin ]

Forum timezone: GMT-6
VF Version: 3.00b, ConfDB:
Before posting please read our privacy policy.
VoyForums(tm) is a Free Service from Voyager Info-Systems.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Voyager Info-Systems. All Rights Reserved.