VoyForums

VoyUser Login optional ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time ]
Subject: Surprise Ending

Author:
Nick
[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]
Date Posted: 20:12:50 03/13/08 Thu

My college world history midterm exam paper was returned with "See me!!" written in big red letters at the top. The instructor, Mr. Garrison, failed to put a grade on it even though everyone sitting around me had one on his or her paper. I was worried, so I went up to him immediately after class and made an appointment to see him later that afternoonm in his office.

Mr. Garrison is a friendly man him who looks to be in his late 20's. He and I always got along well in class, and I expected to get a good grade on the midterm which consisted of 5 essay questions covering civilizations up through the Roman Empire. At the beginning of our meeting, I told him how much I studied for the exam and how I must have totally blown it to require this meeting.

"Nick," Mr. Garrison said, "your annswers were not what I expected, and quite frankly, I would be forced to give you a "D" if you made me put a grade on this. I thought we could work out something that would allow me to give you something higher. Are you interested?"

"Yes," I answered hastily. Then I began to get a little concerned as to what Mr. Garrison wanted me to do.

Just as I opened my mouth with a question, Mr. Garrison asked, "Nick, were you paddled in school?"

"Well, yes I was a few times. One time in junior high, the principal gave me three swats for fighting. Then in high school, I got a paddling from the principal for cheating on a test. I got 5 of them that time. My baseball coach whacked my butt with a paddle a few times, too."

Mr. Garrison then took a big paddle with hole drilled in it from his desk saying, "Did any of the paddles look like this, Nick?"