[ Show ]
Support VoyForums
[ Shrink ]
VoyForums Announcement: Programming and providing support for this service has been a labor of love since 1997. We are one of the few services online who values our users' privacy, and have never sold your information. We have even fought hard to defend your privacy in legal cases; however, we've done it with almost no financial support -- paying out of pocket to continue providing the service. Due to the issues imposed on us by advertisers, we also stopped hosting most ads on the forums many years ago. We hope you appreciate our efforts.

Show your support by donating any amount. (Note: We are still technically a for-profit company, so your contribution is not tax-deductible.) PayPal Acct: Feedback:

Donate to VoyForums (PayPal):

Login ] [ Contact Forum Admin ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 1234[5]6789 ]

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Date Posted: 08:29
Author: Asis Boral - 9 April 2002
Subject: Yoga---It's Mystery and Performing Art ( Selected Part)

First KRIYA and number 20736 —it’s relation to the higher Kriyas

"Revered :Lahiri Maharaj has classified Kriya Yoga into four
sections. These divisions represent four stages which a yoga
practitioner achieves in course of his gradual development. He
refers to these stages as the First Kriya, the second Kriya, the
third Kriya and the fourth Kriya

When a yoga practitioner goes on practicing pranayama and directs
upward the life force or prana to surge through the spinal canal
following the flow of cold air or Ida at that time the body gets
cold inside. Along with the upward carriage of the surging life
force, the mind which was so long bogged down in the lower strata
is forceful slowly in the upward direction. When the mind along with
the life force reaches it's crest at the sixth plexus
twin petal led plexus between the eyebrows) and the cold air enters
inside completely at that time, the cold air very naturally tries to
go outwards . This time the mind is to be released with this
outward flow along with the lifeforce. Release of upward movement
of lifeforce or prana into the downward movement of apana in the
manner allied to the oblation of life force(prana) into the apana.
Again when the downward air reaches the first plexus, the ultimate
site of it's slow onward movement.
Thus takes place the oblation of prana into apana.

The aforesaid process of puraka , Khumabhaka and recaka constitute
the main foundation of Kriya.

The first Kriya is also known as the Kriya of practice of corporal
purification or the performance for meditation.
At this stage an effort should be there to prepare the tongue for
Kechari mudra. Talavya Kriya will be an aid to this goal. One cannot
deserve higher grades of Kriya until the tongue is prepared for
Kechari mudra.

By the particulated maneuverings of pranayama when the distracted
mind converges into the interior at that time the quality of rajas
deteriorate, giving way to increased faculty of sattva.
The sadhaka has to overcome four phases in order to reach the
summit after following the breathing exercise or pranayama. These
four stages are named pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi.
It may be perceived that if a sadhaka performs perfectly only
twelve breathing exercises as said above , his mind enters into the
interior world leaving the external attraction. This inward feeling
is called pratyahara.
The sadhaka after performing pranayama 144 in numbers arrives at
the state of spiritual concept (dharana).
The sadhaka arrives at the state of transcendental meditation after
performing 144x12= 1728 number of pranayams.
The state of trance is spontaneously achieved when an accomplisher
performs a number of 20736 pranayams.
The state of samadhi can be achieved as such but it is next to
impossible for anyone. To solve this problem revered Lahiri Mahasay
gives vent to an easy way. In this method the state coming out of
pranayama is given more attention that the number of pranayama. He
has classified the course of pranayama into four divisions. The
first (first Kriya) is related with the physical purifications, the
second is the Ohmkar Parnayam (breathing excersize of sacred om) ,
the third (Kriya) is "Thokarer Kriya' (pecking) i.e. device
repeatedly striking with repeated blows and the fourth is the
pranayama of meditations.
The four types of Kriya narrated above include all the states of
pranayama resulting out of the number of 20736."

Written By
Swami Sadhanananda Giri Maharaj

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]

Post a message:
This forum requires an account to post.
[ Create Account ]
[ Login ]
[ Contact Forum Admin ]

Forum timezone: GMT+0
VF Version: 3.00b, ConfDB:
Before posting please read our privacy policy.
VoyForums(tm) is a Free Service from Voyager Info-Systems.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Voyager Info-Systems. All Rights Reserved.