VoyForums
[ Show ]
Support VoyForums
[ Shrink ]
VoyForums Announcement: Programming and providing support for this service has been a labor of love since 1997. We are one of the few services online who values our users' privacy, and have never sold your information. We have even fought hard to defend your privacy in legal cases; however, we've done it with almost no financial support -- paying out of pocket to continue providing the service. Due to the issues imposed on us by advertisers, we also stopped hosting most ads on the forums many years ago. We hope you appreciate our efforts.

Show your support by donating any amount. (Note: We are still technically a for-profit company, so your contribution is not tax-deductible.) PayPal Acct: Feedback:

Donate to VoyForums (PayPal):

Saturday 22Login ] [ Main index ] [ Post a new message ] [ Search | Check update time | Archives: 123[4]567 ]
Subject: PEACE GATHERING on DECEMBER 18, 2002


Author:
chadi
[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]
Date Posted: 03:01:06 12/09/02 Mon

PEACE GATHERING on DECEMBER 18, 2002

"You must be the change you wish to see in the world." Mahatma Ghandi

The time has come for us to join together to express our solidarity for the
cause of peace.

More than 250 students from several universities in Lebanon have come
together because we believe that people living in the Middle East and North
Africa have suffered for far too long from aggression and war.

We call on every man, woman and child who believes in the basic right for
all human beings to live and develop in an atmosphere free from injustice
and the misery of war to unite with us on December 18, 2002 at 7:00pm local
time in Beirut, Lebanon by lighting a white candle for peace.


Where, When and What to do

For people living in Lebanon, we ask that you meet at Martyr’s Square at
6:45 pm and walk with us to the Clock Tower in the City Center, where we
will sit together. Please bring a white burning candle; which is a symbol of
hope for peace.

For people living in the countries of the Middle East and North Africa,
Americas, Africa, Europe and Asia we ask that you gather together peacefully
in your City Center, Corniche or other public place. If you are unable to go
to a public place due to weather or security considerations, we ask that you
show your support by placing a burning white candle outside near your home,
office or apartment building; or clearly visible near a window. Please see
time schedule listed below.

For any questions: Email: Christine Crumrine, Lecturer at AUB:
ch03@aub.edu.lb or telephone at 961-3-350344

TIME SCHEDULE

The Middle East and North Africa

Beirut: 7:00pm Baghdad: 8:00pm Dubai: 9:00pm
Cairo: 7:00pm Riyadh: 8:00pm Abu Dhabi: 9:00pm
Amman: 7:00pm Rabat: 5:00pm Tunis: 6:00pm
Algiers: 6:00pm Doha: 8:00pm Muscat: 8:00pm
Gaza: 7:00pm Manama: 8:00pm Kuwait City: 8:00pm
Jerusalem: 7:00pm Aden: 8:00pm
Ramallah: 7:00pm Tripoli: 6:00pm
Damascus: 7:00pm

The Americas

Montreal: 11:00am Rio de Janeiro: 3:00pm
Toronto: 12:00pm Bogota: 12:00pm
New York: 12:00pm Buenos Aires: 2:00pm
Boston: 12:00pm
Chicago: 11:00 am
Washington DC: 12:00pm
Dallas: 11:00am
Los Angeles: 9:00am
Seattle: 9:00am
Caracas: 1:00pm
Sao Paulo: 3:00pm

Europe, Africa and Asia

Copenhagen: 6:00pm
London: 5:00pm Sydney: 4:00am
Paris: 6:00pm Perth: 1:00am
Brussels: 6:00pm Tokyo: 2:00am
Berlin: 6:00pm New Delhi: 10:30pm
Madrid: 6:00pm Saigon: 12:00am
Rome: 6:00pm Hong Kong: 1:00am
Moscow: 8:00pm Shanghai: 1:00am
Belgrade: 6:00pm Seoul: 2:00am
Athens: 7:00pm Yerevan: 9:00pm
Tehran: 8:30pm
Cape Town: 7:00pm
Lagos: 6:00pm

It is important that we all unite together and light candles at the same
time!

For those people meeting in public places, we ask that you remain
disciplined and refrain from all violent thought, speech or action.


"I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the
starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and
brotherhood can never become a reality. I believe that unarmed truth and
unconditional love will have the final word." Martin Luther King Jr.

"Immense military and economic power are no guarantee of wisdom or moral
vision…We need to step back from the imaginary thresholds that separate
people from each other and re-examine the labels, reconsider the limited
resources available, decide to share our fates with each other as cultures
mostly have done, despite the bellicose cries and creeds…It takes patience
and education, but it is worth the investment than still greater levels of
large-scale violence and suffering." Edward Said

"I like to believe that people in the long run are going to do more to
promote peace than our governments. Indeed, I think that people want peace
so much that one of these days governments had better get out of the way and
let them have it." Dwight D. Eisenhower

"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change
the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has." Margaret Mead


Dear All,

Please forward this email to every person that you know so that we can work
towards generating hope for peace in our region. If you are willing and
motivated to work as a co-ordinator in your village, city, office or
university we would really appreciate your effort!!!

[ Next Thread | Previous Thread | Next Message | Previous Message ]


Post a message:
This forum requires an account to post.
[ Create Account ]
[ Login ]

Forum timezone: GMT+2
VF Version: 3.00b, ConfDB:
Before posting please read our privacy policy.
VoyForums(tm) is a Free Service from Voyager Info-Systems.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Voyager Info-Systems. All Rights Reserved.